Our Journey So Far….

A long, long time ago…. nah.

We are an attachment parenting family.  As such we spend a good amount of time with other “natural” type families and homeschool is a part of my world.  My first son, however, has a very …. determined personality.  I was convinced he would never learn from me.  So we enrolled him part time in a Montessori preschool and eventually moved him up to full time.  He thrived there and learned a lot.  We discovered the Feingold Diet and that changed his behavior drastically and we started getting along better.  As he neared Kindergarten age we had to decide what to do.  The public schools in our neighborhood are terrible and not an option.  We thought about Charter Schools, keeping him at his Montessori School and homeschooling.  The more research I did the more I realized that it sounded wonderful for our family.

We decided to commit to a year.  He is a September birthday and I realized that even if we did nothing all year he could enter Kindergarten a year “late” the following year and we could pretend it never happened. 🙂  So we took the plunge.  We tried things and fought.  He shut down and refused to do anything.  I yelled, he rebelled.  I tried to force he freaked out.  So I just took a step back and let him de-school.  Then slowly introduced a few things here and there.  We ended up finding a nice balance that we both love – although it took about a year.

Dancing Girl, who will be four next week, will continue at the Montessori preschool for another year and then join us at home.

So that is where we are.

My next two posts will discuss how our first year went and what I learned and what our plans are for next year.

One response to “Our Journey So Far….

  1. I came across your blog on the “Homeschooling Freethinkers” facebook wall. The interaction you describe sounds a lot like what I experience with my 5 year old son. I’m not quite a full-blown unschooler, but I certainly see the benefits of a child-led learning approach. We are also really into Montessori.

    I look forward to reading more of your blog.

Leave a Reply

