Not Quite Unschool “Curriculum” – Math

Our journey thus far has taken us through a few math programs.  Coming from Montessori we decided to start with Shiller Math.  It is a Montessori based spiral curriculum that includes manipulatives.  We enjoyed it, but I found some of it too easy and some too hard and because it spirals we needed to cover everything.  So I moved on to Math U See Alpha.  We made it through successfully for a while, but once again I started reading ;).  I’ve realized that early introductions to math facts is an unnecessary burden for a child.  So I shelved it for now.  I absolutely adore the program and wish this is how I had been taught math, but it doesn’t have to be now.  Well, you know what they say about plans!  Bouncy boy asked for it the other day and proceeded to do 2 pages (never before done in one sitting).  So I’d say yes, letting them bring it to you = good.  So I’ve now decided to keep it available and suggest it now and again and do it completely at his pace.  We are currently on lesson 15.

This year I want to focus more on living math.  We will do a calendar every day where he can write the day of the month, weather, temperature (inside and out) etc.  We are getting analog clocks and him a watch since he is currently building clocks out of every pencil, popsicle stick and straw he can find and asking me what time it makes.  Also, we will build the clock the way Math U See teaches – which is pretty cool.  I want to get more measuring devices for him to play with – rulers, yard stick, a balance, stop watch and such to allow for free play.  And a calculator for him to play around with and perhaps aid in grocery shopping.

Bouncy Boy is also very into board games right now and playing with two dice will teach addition facts very quickly.  We will supply the answers of course, but it won’t take long for him to figure out if he throws a 1 and a 3 it’s 4.  I’m thinking that as he masters these we will get multi-sided dice to encourage adding into higher numbers.

I intend to make full use of  the Living Math website for more ideas as we progress, but for now – addition facts, calendar, temperature and measurement are ideal.

One response to “Not Quite Unschool “Curriculum” – Math

  1. Found your blog through a friend of mine and just wanted to say how much I am enjoying reading it! I will be adding it to my blog roll on my site for sure!

Leave a Reply

